one-stop-shop

Prototyping of evidence-based tools for one-stop-shops
Slide 3

One-Stop-Shops or municipal climate centers are a crucial place where digital tools can support climate protection by citizens and significantly increase the rate and depth of retrofitting. The module is currently in preparation with the CO2COMPASS network and VIADUKT GmbH (prototype construction from 2022).


CO2COMPASS: Municipal climate centers for building carbon neutrality supported by local citizenship and economy.

The idea of the municipal climate center as an OSS is being developed in the CO2COMPASS program (graphic DE).

The CO2COMPASS-program is currently developing approaches in which digital tools for evidence-based climate protection support one-stop stores as municipal climate centers.

CO2COMPASS climate centers shall act as the central contact to provide independent and technology-neutral advice with reliable information on costs and emissions. The task of the OSS is to empower the citizens as well as the municipality employees to realize the reconstruction of all buildings within the municipality according to the collectively set targets.

To this end, they provide expertise and coordinate civil society involvement. In Europe, there is already experience with OSS offerings. OSS operators are often public bodies, industry, energy service providers, intermediaries, cooperatives or stores with an OSS department.


The background is the implementation of European and national strategies

Directive (EU) 2018/844 (see Directive 2010/31/EU) on the energy performance of buildings introduces the concept of the One-Stop-Shop (OSS) in relation to the definition of a long-term renovation strategy. The directive includes the obligation for member states to facilitate access to appropriate mechanisms for project bundling, mitigating the perceived risk of energy efficiency measures, using public funds to increase private sector investment, setting guidelines for investments, establishing accessible and transparent advisory tools.

“Too complicated – no craftsmen – who to believe?” Energy retrofit is often an obstacle course for private investors in climate protection. Illustration of the obstacles according to Boza-Kiss [1].

In the EU member states, for example, OSS are included in national strategies. In Germany, this is done e.g.. under point 4.9 of the long-term renovation strategy with the following explanation: “Potential funding recipients are often not sufficiently informed about existing funding offers for increasing energy efficiency and the use of renewable energies for heat in buildings, industrial processes and plants, and existing information as well as the application process are perceived as too complex from the customer’s point of view.”

The methods and tools of sdp can contribute to accelerating the introduction of OSS.


One-Stop-Shops: Expanding European experience

One-Stop-Shops are transparent and easily accessible intermediary tools from the customers’ point of view and innovative business models from the suppliers’ point of view. An OSS overcomes market fragmentation on both the demand and supply side by offering holistic renovation solutions for the entire value chain. The OSS stands in the middle of the energy renovation players and engages all other contractors, occasionally even the financial player. He represents and manages virtually the entire customer chain. The customer receives all the information, all the contracts and all the management from the OSS (source Boza-Kiss [1].

Source: OSS for the rehabilitation of the priate building stock, analysis and policy recommendation Boza-Kiss [1].

According to Boza-Kiss, “One-stop stores perform energy retrofits of buildings and help building owners, managers and tenants overcome organizational hurdles, management difficulties and financial challenges.

They assist those building owners and tenants who are already considering rehabilitation. They help motivated owners and tenants overcome difficulties that would otherwise prevent them from taking action, or that would make it slow or costly to implement the retrofit.

One-Stop-Shops offer holistic, integral solutions for the renovation of (typically) residential buildings, including towards nZEB, at reasonable cost and good quality.”

Examples of OSS are Reno Booster (A), Reimarkt (NL), HomeGrade (BE) or Bordeaux M├ętropole Energies (F). E.g. in the ProRetro project, structures are being established in Germany.


[1] Boza-Kiss, B., Bertoldi, P., Della Valle, N. and Economidou, M., One-stop shops for residential building energy renovation in the EU, EUR 30762 EN, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2021, ISBN 978-92-76-40100-1, doi:10.2760/245015, JRC125380.

one-stop-shop

Prototypbau von nachweisbasierten tools für One-Stop-Shops
Slide 3

One-Stop-Shops oder kommunale Klimazentren sind ein entscheidender Ort, an dem digitale Werkzeuge Klimaschutz von Bürger*innen unterstützen und die Sanierungsrate und -tiefe signifikant steigern können. Das Modul ist aktuell mit CO2COMPASS und der VIADUKT GmbH in Vorbereitung (Prototypbau ab 2022).


CO2COMPASS: Kommunale, durch lokale Bürgerschaft und Wirtschaft unterstützte Klimazentren für Gebäudeklimaneutralität

Im CO2COMPASS-Programm werden aktuell Ansätze entwickelt, in denen digitale Werkzeuge für nachweisorientierten Klimaschutz one-stop-shops als kommunale Klimazentren unterstützen.

Klimazentren und One-Stop-Shops (OSS) können auf dem Weg zum klimaneutralen Gebäudebestand als zentrale Ansprechpartner und Begleiter zur Steigerung der Sanierungsrate und -tiefe beitragen.

Wichtig ist eine unabhängige und technologieoffene Beratung mit zuverlässigen Informationen zu Kosten und Emissionen.

Aufgabe der OSS ist es, die Bürger*innen sowie die Gemeindeangestellten zu befähigen, den Umbau aller Gebäude innerhalb der Kommune entsprechend den gemeinschaftlich gesetzten Zielvorgaben zu realisieren.

Dafür stehen sie mit Know-how zur Verfügung und koordinieren das zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement.

In Europa liegen zahlreiche Erfahrungen mit OSS-Angeboten vor. Betreiber von OSS sind oft öffentliche Stellen, die Industrie, Energiedienstleister, Vermittler, Genossenschaften oder Geschäfte mit einer OSS-Abteilung.

Die Idee des kommunalen Klimazentrums als OSS wird im CO2COMPASS-Programm entwickelt (Grafik).


Hintergrund ist die Umsetzung von europäischen und nationalen Strategien

Die Richtlinie (EU) 2018/844 zur Änderung der Richtlinie 2010/31/EU über die Gesamtenergieeffizienz von Gebäuden führt das Konzept des One-Stop-Shops (OSS) in Bezug auf die Festlegung einer langfristigen Renovierungsstrategie ein. Die Richtline enthält die Verpflichtung für die Mitgliedsstaaten den Zugang zu geeigneten Mechanismen zur Projektbündelung zu erleichtern, zur Minderung des wahrgenommenen Risikos von Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen, zur Nutzung von öffentlichen Mitteln zur Steigerung der Investitionen des privaten Sektors, zur Vorgabe von Leitlinien für Investitionen, zur Einrichtung von zugänglichen und transparenten Beratungsinstrumenten.

„Zu kompliziert – keine Handwerker – wem soll man glauben?“ Energetische Sanierung ist für private Investoren in Klimaschutz oft ein Hindernislauf. Veranschaulichung der Hindernisse nach Boza-Kiss [1]

In den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten werden OSS z.B. in nationale Strategien aufgenommen. In Deutschland erfolgt dies z.B.. unter Punkt 4.9 der langfristigen Renovierungsstrategie mit folgender Erläuterung: „Potenzielle Fördernehmer sind häufig nicht ausreichend über bestehende Förderangebote zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien für Wärme in Gebäuden, industriellen Prozessen und Anlagen informiert, und bestehende Informationen sowie die Antragsstellung werden aus Kundensicht als zu komplex wahrgenommen.“

Die Methoden und Werkzeuge der sdp können zu einer Beschleunigung der Einführung von OSS beitragen.


One-Stop-Shops: Europäische Erfahrungen ausbauen

One-Stop-Shops sind aus Sicht der Kunden transparente und leicht zugängliche Vermittlungsinstrumente und aus Sicht der Anbieter innovative Geschäftsmodelle. Ein OSS überwindet die Marktfragmentierung sowohl auf der Nachfrageseite als auch auf der Angebotsseite, indem er ganzheitliche Renovierungslösungen für die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette anbietet. Der OSS steht in der Mitte der Akteure der energetischen Sanierung und beauftragt alle anderen Auftragnehmer, gelegentlich sogar den Finanzakteur. Er repräsentiert und verwaltet praktisch die gesamte Kundenkette. Der Kunde erhält alle Informationen, alle Verträge und das gesamte Management vom OSS (Quelle Boza-Kiss [1].

Quelle: OSS für die Sanierung des priaten Gebäudebestandes, Analyse und Politik-Empfehlung Boza-Kiss [1]

Gem. Boza-Kiss führen „One-Stop-Shops energetische Gebäudesanierungen durch und helfen Gebäudeeigentümern, -verwaltern und -mietern dabei, organisatorische Hürden, Management-schwierigkeiten und finanzielle Herausforderungen zu überwinden.

Sie unterstützen jene Gebäudeeigentümer und Mieter, die bereits eine Sanierung in Erwägung ziehen. Sie helfen motivierten Eigentümern und Mietern bei der Überwindung von Schwierigkeiten, die sie andernfalls von Maßnahmen abhalten würden oder die die Durchführung der Sanierung langsam oder kostspielig machen.

One-Stop-Shops (OSS) bieten ganzheitliche, integrale Lösungen für die Renovierung (typischerweise) von Wohngebäuden, auch in Richtung nZEB, zu angemessenen Kosten und in guter Qualität„.

Beispiele für OSS sind Reno Booster (A), Reimarkt (NL), HomeGrade (BE) oder Bordeaux Métropole Energies (F). Z.B. im Projekt ProRetro werden Strukturen in Deutschland aufgebaut.


[1] Boza-Kiss, B., Bertoldi, P., Della Valle, N. and Economidou, M., One-stop shops for residential building energy renovation in the EU, EUR 30762 EN, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2021, ISBN 978-92-76-40100-1, doi:10.2760/245015, JRC125380.