organization

Establishment of a hybrid EU organizational structure

How can motivated, powerful and independently operating organizations work together for evidence-based climate neutrality in 2035?

The hybrid structure of the sustainable data platform brings together professional for-profit and non-profit actors for the common good. The goal is to capture value for the common good that goes beyond a company, organization or association. Companies, energy agencies, institutes and non-profit foundations with many years of experience in climate protection and digitalization work together on the platform to achieve this.

Minimum viable products 2020: initial work

The first work has been taking place prototypically since 2020 to achieve initial benefits in the modules based on the platform code. The aim is to improve processes started at the working level according to the design thinking method, to ensure the quality of the platform modules and to implement initial tools in business models.

At the same time, the aim is to establish a European structure that meets long-term requirements and is capable of growth.

Simplified visualization of the hybrid (blue = for-profit, green = non-profit) network structure with multiple Centers of Expertise (CoE) and a Master Data (and Community) Management (MDM). The demarcation (orange) 2020 MVP illustrates the construction of the first “minimum viable products” as the basis of the scalable platform.

Steadiness: Requirements for sustainable successful implementation

Structures are to be set up for sdp to ensure long-term independent operation in accordance with its intended purpose. The structures should also enable rapid, strong growth, i.e. broad application and implementation of the tools and concepts developed on the platform.

The task of the platform is to support the diversity of participants in the socially responsible transformation to climate neutrality on the basis of valid data. This requires multidisciplinary, digitally supported management requirements for participatory hybrid organizations with a balance between non-profit and for-profit actors.

Organizational structure

The task of the organization is to ensure operation in accordance with the codex, independence in terms of financial interests and an financially self-sufficient work. The legal entity may be a foundation, an association of foundations or a European cooperative.

Success indicators for the operation of the sdp are to be developed (e.g. environmental impacts achieved directly and indirectly, indirectly e.g. through effectiveness in policy). Other indicators include, e.g., meeting the SDGs and measurable indicators such as maximum housing cost burden (energy-related utility costs). One performance indicator is the social satisfaction of volunteer and professional stakeholders and the management of conflicts between stakeholders.

Operational tasks

Operational implementation involves the permanent coordination of new and diverse activities and their quality assurance. The task is the implementation of the processes, support and further development of the platform offers. From public relations to the coordination of participants, the implementation of meetings, the clarification of legal issues and product development to user service.

Further tasks are the support of participation processes and business models as well as the support of private individuals, companies and civil society organizations. A particular challenge is the support of concrete business processes, where it must be ensured that the data is handled in a valid, secure and codex-compliant manner. The protection of the intellectual property of start-ups and smaller companies in particular must be taken into account.

Slide
Olaf Hofmann

The SKOPOS group of companies is highly motivated to work on the sustainable data platform. With our expertise in the areas of data analysis, data visualization and user experience, we can support at crucial points.
-
The platform fills a central gap in the achievement of European climate goals - without sustainable data platform no realistic prospect of climate neutrality. Therefore, the success of this project is also one of our corporate goals.

Founder and Managing Director

SKOPOS Institute for Market and Communication Research GmbH & Co. KG

Slide
Jörg Ortjohann

Climate protection must be measured and put on track using the best available indicators. Politicians are sending a clear signal that they cannot prevail against powerful association interests when it comes to installing the necessary feedback processes. Consider the emissions scandal.
-

Stable feedback mechanisms, however, are necessary to implement the SDGs and goals of the Paris Climate Agreement. Civil society must create structures and strengthen institutions with evidence-based companies in order to consistently align the European data space with affordable climate protection now.

Executive Board

Stiftung Energieeffizienz
(Energy Efficiency Foundation)

organization

Aufbau einer hybriden EU-Organisationsstruktur

Wie können motivierte, handlungsfähige und unabhängig operierende Träger für nachweisorientierte Klimaneutralität 2035 zusammenwirken?

Die Hybridstruktur der sutainable data platform bringt professionelle for-profit und non-profit Akteure gemeinwohlorientert zusammen. Das Ziel ist es Werte für das Gemeinwohl zu schaffen, die über ein Unternehmen, eine Ogranisation oder einen Verband hinausgehen. Auf der Plattform arbeiten dazu Unternehmen, Energieagenturen, Institute und gemeinnützige Stiftungen mit langjähriger Erfahrung in Klimaschutz und Digitalisierung zusammen.

MVP 2020: erste Arbeiten

Die ersten Arbeiten erfolgen seit 2020 prototypisch zur Erzielung ersten Nutzens in den Modulen auf Basis des Plattformkodex. Ziel ist nach der Design-Thinking Methode auf der Arbeitsebene begonnene Prozesse zu verbessern, die Qualität der Plattformmodule zu sichern und erste Tools in Geschäftsmodelle umzusetzen.

Parallel wird eine dauerhaft anforderungsgerechte wachstumsfähige europäische Struktur angestrebt.

Vereinfachte Visualisierung der hybriden (Blau = For-Profit, Grün = Non-Profit) Netzwerkstruktur mit mehreren Centers of Expertise (CoE) und einem Master-Data (und Community) Management (MDM). Die Abgrenzug (orange) 2020 MVP veranschaulicht den Bau der ersten „minimum viable products“ als Basis der skalierbaren Plattform.

Verstetigung: Anforderungen für eine dauerhaft erfolgreiche Umsetzung

Für die sdp sind Strukturen aufzubauen, die einen langjährig unabhängigen und bestimmungsgemäßen Betrieb sicherstellen. Die Strukturen sollen zudem ein schnelles starkes Wachstum, d. h. breite Anwendung und Umsetzung der auf der Plattform entwickelten Werkzeuge und Konzepte ermöglichen.

Aufgabe der Plattform ist es, auf Basis valider Daten die Vielfalt der Teilnehmer bei der sozialverträglichen Transformation zur Klimaneutralität zu unterstützen. Dazu sind multidisziplinäre, digital unterstützte Managementanforderungen für partizipative Hybridorganisationen mit einer Balance zwischen non-profit und for-profit Akteuren notwendig.

Ideelle Aufgaben

Ideelle Aufgabe der Trägerorganisation ist die Sicherstellung eines bestimmungsgemäßen und von Einflussnahme durch Partikularinteressen unabhängigen, und finanziell eigenständigen Betriebs. Als juristische Person kommen Stiftung, klageberechtigter Stiftungsverband oder die Europäische Genossenschaft in Frage.

Es sind Erfolgsindikatoren für den Betrieb der sdp zu entwickeln (z.B. direkt und indirekt erzielte Umweltwirkungen, indirekt z.B. durch Wirksamkeit in die Politik). Weitere Indikatoren sind z.B. die Erfüllung der SDGs und messbarer Indikatoren wie z.B. der maximalen Wohnkostenbelastung (energiegebunden Nebenkosten). Ein Leistungsindikator ist die soziale Zufriedenheit der ehrenamtlichen und professionellen Beteiligten sowie die Bewältigung der Konflikte zwischen Akteuren.

Operative Aufgaben

Bei der operativen Umsetzung geht es um die permanente Koordination neuer und vielfältiger Aktivitäten und deren Qualitätssicherung. Aufgabe ist die Umsetzung der Prozesse, d. h., aktives Vermitteln, Einbringen, Betreuen und Weiterentwickeln der Plattformangebote. Weitere Aufgaben sind die Unterstützung von Partizipationsprozessen und Geschäftsmodellen sowie die Betreuung von Privatpersonen, Unternehmen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Eine besondere Herausforderung besteht in der Begleitung konkreter Geschäftsprozesse, hier ist sicher zu stellen ist, dass die Daten valide, sicher und codexkonform gehandhabt werden. Dem Schutz des geistigen Eigentums von insbesondere Start-Ups und kleineren Unternehmen ist Rechnung zu tragen.

Olaf Hofmann

Die SKOPOS Unternehmensgruppe engagiert sich mit viel Motivation an der sustainable data platform. Mit unserer Expertise in den Bereichen Datenanalyse, Datenvisualisierung und User Experience können wir an entscheidenden Stellen unterstützen.
-
Die Plattform füllt eine zentrale Lücke in der Erreichung Europäischer Klimaziele - ohne sustainable data platform keine realistische Aussicht auf Klimaneutralität. Daher stellt das Gelingen dieses Projektes auch eines unserer Unternehmensziele dar.

Founder and Managing Director

SKOPOS Institut für Markt- und Kommunikationsforschung GmbH & Co. KG

Jörg Ortjohann

Klimaschutz muss anhand bester verfügbarer Indikatoren gemessen und auf Kurs gebracht werden. Die Politik sendet das klare Signal, dass sie sich bei der Installation von notwendigen Feedback-Prozessen nicht gegen mächtige Verbandsinteressen durchsetzen kann. Man denke an den Abgasskandal.
-

Stabile Feedback-Mechanismen sind jedoch notwendig um die SDGs und Ziele des Pariser Klimaschutzabkommens umzusetzen. Die Zivilgesellschaft muss mit nachweisorientierten Unternehmen Strukturen schaffen und Institutionen stärken um den europäischen Datenraum jetzt konsequent auf bezahlbaren Klimaschutz auszurichten.

Vorstand

Stiftung Energieeffizienz

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider