Methodology

Methodology of sdp prototype construction

Despite a climate protection discussion since the first report to the Club of Rome in 1972, there is a lack of tangible indicators for citizens that are aligned with the Paris Climate Agreement and the UN’s sustainability goals. Decisions for effective and affordable climate protection cannot be made: from private purchases to building renovation to planning municipal measures. Not even the CO2 emissions from the production of cars or buildings are transparently available.

The aim of the sustainable data platform is to create a consistent and independent methodology for economically achieving climate neutrality for citizens and communities in Europe.

Methodology is the static of climate protection: boring – but important! Because feed-back mechanisms are, according to [PIK 2019], a “social tipping element” to still counteract the destruction of livelihoods. “Without high-quality data that provide the right information about the right things at the right time, the development, monitoring and evaluation of effective policies is almost impossible” [UN 2014].

Draft platform specification 1.0; basics of democratic handling of data.

Methodological basis and programming of the sdp web app for recording and reducing the personal carbon footprint (D-A-CH).

Functional description WP-Cockpit as the basis for the programming work in the Heat Pump Check module (D-A-CH).

Methodical basis of programming sdp module- PRO-C2, Prototype I, V 1.0 .

Methodological basis of programming sdp module- MSK2, prototype 2020/2021.

sdp Start-Methodology 2020 with CO2COMPASS, Working Group WG 03, 2021-08-21.


Slide
Volker Wittwer

I have been working in the field of solar energy system development at Fraunhofer ISE for 40 years and strive to implement new technologies. New technologies are available in many areas and simulations show the great potential for savings. However, successful implementation often fails in practice due to poor execution and lack of control mechanisms.
-
However, control of the plants and successful implementation of new technologies is only possible if the running characteristics of the plants are also available for constant monitoring. The sustainable data platform could provide the relevant data for this and help us to use renewable energies more efficiently in conjunction with efficient conversion and "smart" control in our overall energy system.

Prof. Dr. Volker Wittwer
Physicists

Slide
Dana Dübbers

We have no idea about climate protection. That was the shocking realisation I had at the beginning of my work as a student trainee at sdp. Houses and products are labelled "climate neutral" even though their emissions fall far short of climate protection targets. It is therefore crucial that we use monitoring systems that measure actual emissions and thus make effective measures visible.
.
The effectiveness of many everyday measures has already been proven. The CO2 Avatar lists the 19 most effective ones that can be used to follow one's own path to climate neutrality in a scientifically sound and simple way. Before, I was not aware that simply switching to a green bank saves as much CO2 as eating a vegan diet for a year.

Student Public Relations

sustainable data platform

open-science processing note

Expertise from practice, science and administration is compiled as the basis for the sdp programming work. The goal is a holistic evaluation with illustrations of relevant characteristic values that can be understood as intuitively as possible. The creation of the methodological basis is to be subjected to continuous quality assurance, which could not be provided throughout in the course of the voluntary prototype construction 2020. Methodological uncertainties and the associated reduced data quality are pointed out.

The above documents contain partly confidential information, unchecked individual assessments and personal data as well as unauthorised graphs, tables, etc.. In the present version, they are used for the internal processing and creation of algorithms. Individual documents can be made available on request while respecting the Platform Code.

For further development, it is planned to prepare the basics in an understandable way and to publish them as at least a bilingual wiki (open science). The first further wiki contributions were collected on the topics of “definition of climate neutrality”, “compensation” and “hydrogen”.

The sustainable data platform needs your support

We need your support to process and provide independent data for evidence-based climate protection.


[UN 2014]: Independent Expert Advisory Group on a Data Revolution for Sustainable Development: A World that Counts, Mobilising the Data Revolution for Sustainable Development. Report prepared at the request of the United Nations Secretary-General, November 2014

[PIK 2019] Information feedback in the sense of disclosure of information on greenhouse gas emissions is a “social tipping element” (STE6) that can lead to disruptive change to limit Earth’s overheating. Source: Social tipping dynamics for stabilizing Earth’s climate by 2050, Contributed by Hans Joachim Schellnhuber (PIK-Potsdam), November 15, 2019.

methodik

Methodische Grundlagen sdp Prototyp-Bau

Trotz einer Klimaschutzdiskussion seit dem ersten Bericht an den Club of Rome 1972 fehlen für Bürger*innen greifbare, auf das Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen und die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN abgestimmte Kennwerte. Entscheidungen für wirksamen und bezahlbaren Klimaschutz können nicht getroffen werden: vom privaten Einkauf, über die Gebäudesanierung bis zur Planung kommunaler Maßnahmen. Nicht einmal die CO2-Emissionen aus der Herstellung von Autos oder Gebäuden sind transparent verfügbar.

Ziel der sustainable data platform ist das Erstellen einer konsistenten und unabhängigen Methodik zum wirtschaftlichen Erzielen von Klimaneutralität für Bürger*innen und Kommunen in Europa.

Methodik ist die Statik des Klimaschutzes: Langweilig – aber wichtig! Denn Feed-back Mechanismen sind nach [PIK 2019] ein „soziales Kippelement“, um noch gegen die Zerstörung der Lebensgrundlage gegenzusteuern. „Ohne qualitativ hochwertige Daten, die die richtigen Informationen über die richtigen Dinge zur richtigen Zeit liefern, ist die Entwicklung, Überwachung und Bewertung wirksamer politischer Maßnahmen fast unmöglich“ [UN 2014].

Entwurf Plattform Spezifikation 1.0; Grundlagen des demokratischen Umgangs mit Daten.

Methodische Grundlage und Programmierung der sdp-Web-App „CO2-Avatar“zur Erfassung und Reduktion des persönlichen CO2-Fußabdrucks.

Funktionsbeschrieb WP-Cockpit als Grundlage der Programmierarbeiten im Modul Heat Pump Check.


Methodische Grundlage der Programmierung sdp-Modul- PRO-C2, Prototyp I, V 1.0 .

Methodische Grundlage der Programmierung sdp-Modul- MSK2, Prototyp 2020/2021.

sdp Start-Methodik 2020 mit CO2COMPASS, Erstellt: kommissarisch Arbeitsgruppe WG 03, 2021-08-21

Volker Wittwer

Seit 40 Jahren arbeite ich im Bereich der Entwicklung solarer Energiesysteme am Fraunhofer ISE und bemühe mich um die Umsetzung neuer Technologien. Es sind in vielen Bereichen neue Technologien verfügbar und die Simulationen zeigen das große Einsparungspotential. Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung scheitert jedoch in der Praxis häufig an den mangelhaften Ausführungen und fehlenden Kontrollmechanismen.
-
Eine Kontrolle der Anlagen und eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung neuer Technologien ist jedoch nur dann möglich, wenn auch die laufenden Kenndaten der Anlagen zur ständigen Kontrolle zur Verfügung stehen. Die Sustainable Data Platform könnte dazu die entsprechenden Daten liefern und dazu beitragen, dass wir den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien in Verbindung mit effizienter Umwandlung und „smarter“ Regelung in unserem Gesamtenergiesystem effizienter einsetzen können.

Prof. Dr. Volker Wittwer
Physiker

Dana Dübbers

Wir haben keine Ahnung von Klimaschutz. Das war die schockierende Erkenntnis, die ich zu Beginn meiner Tätigkeit als Werkstudentin bei der sdp hatte. Häusern und Produkten wird der Stempel „klimaneutral“ aufgedrückt, obwohl ihre Emissionen Klimaschutzziele weit verfehlen. Daher ist es zentral, dass wir Monitoring-Systeme nutzen, die tatsächliche Emissionen messen und so wirksame Maßnahmen sichtbar machen.
.
Bei vielen Alltagsmaßnahmen ist die Wirksamkeit schon erwiesen. Der CO2-Avatar listet die 19 effektivsten auf, mit denen der eigene Weg zur Klimaneutralität wissenschaftlich fundiert und einfach beschritten werden kann. Mir war davor nicht bewusst, dass ein simpler Wechsel zu einer grünen Bank genau so viel CO2 einspart, wie sich ein Jahr lang vegan zu ernähren.

Studentin Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

sustainable data platform

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

open-science Bearbeitungshinweis

Als Grundlage der sdp Programmierarbeiten wird Expertise aus Praxis, Wissenschaft und Verwaltung zusammengestellt. Ziel ist eine ganzheitliche Bewertung mit möglichst intuitiv zu verstehenden Veranschaulichungen von relevanten Kennwerten. Die Schaffung der methodischen Grundlagen ist einer laufenden Qualitätssicherung zu unterziehen, die im Zuge des ehrenamtlichen Prototypbaus 2020 nicht durchgehend erbracht werden konnte. Auf methodische Unsicherheiten und die damit verbundene reduzierte Datengüte wird hingewiesen.

Die vorstehenden Dokumente enthalten teilweise vertrauliche Informationen, ungeprüfte individuelle Einschätzungen und persönliche Daten sowie nicht autorisierte Grafiken, Tabellen etc. Sie dienen in der vorliegenden Fassung der internen Bearbeitung und Erstellung von Algorithmen. Einzeldokumente können auf Nachfrage unter Achtung des Plattformkodex bereitgestellt werden.

Zur Weiterentwicklung ist vorgesehen die Grundlagen verständlich aufzubereiten und als zumindest zweisprachiges Wiki zu veröffentlichen (open science). Erste weitergehende Wiki-Beiträge wurden zu den Themen „Definition Klimaneutralität“, „Kompensation“ und „Wasserstoff“ gesammelt.

Die sustainable data platform benötigt Ihre Unterstützung

Damit wir unabhängige Daten für nachweisorientierten Klimaschutz verarbeiten und bereitstellen können benötigen wir Ihre Unterstützung.


[UN 2014]: Independent Expert Advisory Group on a Data Revolution for Sustainable Development: A World that Counts, Mobilising the Data Revolution for Sustainable Development. Report prepared at the request of the United Nations Secretary-General, November 2014

[PIK 2019] Information-Feedback im Sinne der Offenlegung von Informationen über Treibhausgasemissionen ist ein „soziales Kippelement“ (STE6), das zum disruptiven Wandel zur Begrenzung der Erdüberhitzung führen kann. Quelle: Social tipping dynamics for stabilizing Earth’s climate by 2050, Contributed by Hans Joachim Schellnhuber (PIK-Potsdam), November 15, 2019.